Queer Everything’s Substack
Queer Everything
A queer Palestinian speaks out
0:00
-39:02

A queer Palestinian speaks out

I'm happy and also sad because of the circumstances to welcome back Ali for a conversation about what is happening Gaza right now. Ali previously spoke with us in Season 1 episodes 9 and 10, and shares his perspective as a queer, Muslim, Palestinian man.

We recorded this episode on October 19, 12 days after the attack by Hamas on Israeli civilians, and 10 days into the displacement, civilian bombardment, and cutoff of electricity, food, water, and supplies to the people in Gaza.

Things we mentioned in the episode:

La Tetlaa'i song (lyrics below, at end of list)
Safar Barkelt song (with lyrics here)


The (very handsome) Ali's IG profile: @feeding_seahorses27


Books to read about Palestinian resistance

Books to read about Palestine, continued

Films to watch about Palestine

Gaza awareness- accounts to follow

Gaza awareness- places to donate for humanitarian aid

Documentaries to watch on Palestine

For boycotting


La Tetlaa'i -- Ali's translation: 

"Don't leave your home, and the wind is from the west.
Don't leave your home, and the wind is from the west.
A country for travel, a country.
Your spouse was a stranger, and they set my heart on fire.
Your spouse was a stranger, and they set my heart on fire.
A country for travel, a country.
Don't leave your home, and the wind is from the north.
Don't leave your home, and the wind is from the north.
A country for travel, a country.
Your spouse was strange, and occupied my thoughts.
Your spouse was strange, and occupied my thoughts.
A country for travel, a country.
And yesterday, my friend, it was you and me.
How's work, my companion, have you gotten married?
A country for travel, a country.
Oh, what a pity! Our neighbor's daughter hurt me, oh how!
They dressed me in the shroud of death, yet I'm still alive.
A country for travel, a country.
Oh, traveler, take me with you at dawn I’ll eat any kind of breakfast.
A country for travel, a country.
I endure hunger, but I can't endure separation.
A country for travel, a country.
A country for travel, a country.
A country for travel, a country.
A country for travel, a country."

(Wind in Arabic in this context can also mean passion)

Find us !
Instagram: @queereverythingpodcast
Website: http://www.queereverything.com
YouTube: Queer Everything

0 Comments
Queer Everything’s Substack
Queer Everything
a queer of color podcast about thriving in the world while being at odds with it